Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
purty new to fishing
Hi, my name is Troy. I'm 23 yrs old and really haven't ever been fishing. I've been out the last couple weeks and now that's all I wanna do haha. Anyways, just posting saying I'm a newb from tri cities WA
[signature]
Welcome to BFT Troy, glad that you have found the love of fishing. Here is a link to the Washiington State board. What fish do you like to fish for so far?

[url "http://www.bigfishtackle.com/cgi-bin/gforum/gforum.cgi?category=58"]http://www.bigfishtackle.com/...orum.cgi?category=58[/url]

And the the freshwater fishing boards

[url "http://www.bigfishtackle.com/...orum.cgi?category=70"]http://www.bigfishtackle.com/...orum.cgi?category=70[/url]

We also have a beginners board as well

[url "http://www.bigfishtackle.com/forum/gforum.cgi?forum=328"]http://www.bigfishtackle.com/...gforum.cgi?forum=328[/url]

These will help you get started here on BFT.
[signature]
Bass so far is what I've been doing. The guy I've been going with has me using a texas rigged worm on a cheap rod/reel. I've been doin research on different rods but man, I'm getting Confused haha. Id like to keep doin plastic worm but, I'm not really sure what would be the "best" as of what type lure/bait to use. From what I've read, I need a rod for each type of lure style I'm using which seems like its gonna get spendy haha. I guess what I'm getting to is, what would be a good rod and a good reel that would be under $300 for worm and jig? I like cast style reels from what I've used so far. Also, what would be another good style lure/bate form me to use?
[signature]
You have a very good question here. I would recommend a medium 6-7 foot spinning rod with 8-12 lb test line. The lighter the bait or jig the lighter the line. 8 lb test is a good over all strength that can be used for many baits.

The plastic worm is a great bait for slow presentations. A faster bait would be a spinner bait or crank bait (really good for bass).